Undergraduate Program

Members of the department of surgery participate extensively in the teaching of undergraduate medical students throughout the academic year. Teaching is conducted through a hospital based seminar program, skills teaching in the Surgical Skills Centre as well as core lectures at the Medical Sciences Building. Students are active members of the surgical teams at each of the affiliated hospitals under the supervision of surgical faculty.

For information regarding surgery clerkship please visit the UofT Portal.

Director, Undergraduate Education
Dr. Jory Simpson

Pre-Clerkship Director
Dr. Ronald Kodama

Undergraduate Coordinator
Rong Chen
Department of Surgery
Undergraduate Education
Stewart Building
149 College Street, 5th floor
Toronto, ON M5T 1P5

Tel:  416 978-6431
Fax: 416 978-3928
Email: ume.surgery@utoronto.ca

Undergraduate Education Committee



Undergraduate Medical Education Chair

Dr. Jory Simpson

Vice Chair of Department of Surgery

Dr. Najma Ahmed

Clerkship Coordinator

Rong Chen

Year 2 Medical Student

Cheikh Tchouambou

Year 3 Medical Student

Amanda Mac

Year 3 Medical Student

Maren Brodovsky

Year 4 Medical Student

Aka Nwakoby

Year 4 Medical Student

Harsukh Benipal

Division of General Surgery

Dr. Jory Simpson

Division of Orthopedics Surgery

Dr. Jesse Wolfstadt

Division of Orthopedics Surgery

Dr. Jeremy Hall

Division of Cardiac Surgery

Dr. Fuad Moussa

Division of Plastics Surgery

Dr. Melinda Musgrave

Division of Thoracic Surgery

Dr. Abdollah Behzadi

Division of Urology

Dr. Yonah Krakowsky

Division of Vascular

Dr. Ivica Vucemilo

Division of Neurosurgery

Dr. Sunit Das

Undergraduate Education Director-WB

Dr. George Oreopoulos

Postgraduate Representative

Chloe Wong

Postgraduate Representative

Jordyn Vernon

Postgraduate Representative

Mimi Xiaoming Deng

Postgraduate Representative

Justin Wang

Postgraduate Representative

Zubair Bayat

Wrightman-Berris Academy Coordinator

Amicie Davies

Fitzgerald Academy Coordinator

Michelle Dominey

Peters-Boyd Academy Coordinator

Ashley Rosen

Mississauga Academy Coordinator

Lorraine Ferraro