Apr 17, 2024

Recent academic promotions at the Department of Surgery

promotions 2024

Dear Colleagues,

Please join me in warmly congratulating our Department of Surgery faculty members who have recently been promoted to a higher academic rank (see list below), after a thorough review by the Decanal Promotions Committee of the Temerty Faculty of Medicine. These promotions will take effect July 1st, 2024.

The Department of Surgery, once again, had a 100% success rate with the promotion applications this cycle, which is a tribute to the hard strategic work of our Departmental Promotions Committee, chaired by Dr. Earl Bogoch.

I wish to especially acknowledge the critical role that staff member Sylvia Perry plays in this process and thank her for her dedication.

Below is the list of faculty members who have recently been promoted, along with their new academic titles.

I am proud to point out that some of our faculty members were promoted based on sustained excellence in clinical teaching, and the high regard for their dedication to teaching that was expressed by learners and colleagues alike.


  • Dr. Sunit Das (NS)
  • Dr. Rebecca Gladdy (GS)
  • Dr. Tom Schweizer (NS)
  • Dr. Taufik Valiante (NS)

 Associate Professor:

  • • Dr. Abdollah Behzadi (TS)
  • • Dr. Maryse Bouchard (OS)
  • • Dr. Mark Camp (OS)
  • • Dr. Jas Chahal (OS)
  • • Dr. Jennifer Chung (CS)
  • Dr. Andrew Feifer (US)
  • Dr. David Gomez (GS)
  • Dr. Jeremy Hall (OS)
  • Dr. Ahmed Kayssi (VS)
  • Dr. David Lebel (OS)
  • Dr. Aaron Nauth (OS)
  • Dr. Jesse Pasternak (GS)
  • Dr. Nathan Perlis (US)
  • Dr. Mohammad Qadura (VS)
  • Dr. Eran Shlomovitz (GS)

Congratulations to all of our colleagues on their well-deserved new titles. We are so proud and happy to have you in our academic family!




Carol J. Swallow, MD, PhD, FRCSC, FACS
RS McLaughlin Professor and Chair
Department of Surgery, University of Toronto