Spine Program Faculty and Affiliated Hospitals

The U of T Spine Program draws from about 30 interdisciplinary faculty with areas of interest spanning the continuum from bench to bedside to community to include: Neurosurgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, Physical and Occupational Therapy, Nursing, Health Policy Management and Evaluation, Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology, Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, Psychiatry, Radiation Oncology, Radiology, Medical Biophysics, Medical Imaging, Medicine, Molecular Genetics, Pediatrics, Physiatry, Injury Prevention, Pain Management, and a broad variety of relevant research and disciplines.

Toronto Western Hospital-University Health Network

Mark Erwin PhD DC


Stephen Lewis MD MSc FRCSC

Eric Massicotte MD MSc MBA FRCSC

Raja Rampersaud MD FRCSC

Alexander Velumian PhD

Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Leodante da Costa MD MSc

Mahmood Fazl MD FRCSC

Joel Finkelstein MD MSc FRCSC

Michael Hardisty PhD

Jeremie Laruoche MD FRCSC 

Michael Ford MD FRCSC

Barry  Malcolm MD FRCSC MBA

Meaghan O’Reilly PhD

Farhad Pirouzmand MD MSc FRCSC

Arjun Sahgal BSc MD FRCSC

Victor Yang MD PhD PEng FRCSC

Cari Whyne PhD 

Albert Yee MD MSc FRCSC

St. Michael’s Hospital

Christopher Witiw MD FRCSC

Jefferson Wilson MD PhD FRCSC

Howard Ginsberg MD PhD FRCSC

Henry Ahn MD PhD

Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids)

James Drake BSE MB BCh MSc FRCSC

David Label MD PhD FRCSC

Stephen Lewis MD MSc FRCSC

Reinhard Zeller MD FRCSC

Toronto Rehabilitation Institute-University Health Network

Karl Zabjek BSc MSc PhD

Mount Sinai Hospital-Sinai Health System

Carlo Ammendolia DC PhD CCRF

Techna-University Health Network

Margarete Akens Dr med vet PhD

U of T Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research

Cindi Morshead BSc PhD

U of T Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry

Molly Shoichet PhD FRSC